Ramsay Library

Nursing

A personal Athens logon is needed for offsite access. Register here when onsite.
JHC and HPH register here.

evidence based practice

  • Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+) - evidence-based information for nursing care.
  • CINAHL's Evidence-Based Care Sheets - summations of relevant, high-quality evidence. To find these documents click on Evidence-Based Care Sheets in the blue bar at the top of the CINAHL screen
  • Cochrane Library - includes a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarise and interpret the results of medical research.
  • DynaMed -a clinical decision support tool which combines the latest evidence, guidelines and expert opinion (Point of Care)

databases

  • CINAHL - a comprehensive source of nursing and allied health literature
  • Nursing Reference Centre Plus - NRC+ includes all the NRC content plus: Evidence-based videos (250+) - A new focus on risk and leadership management - New continuing education topics.

diseases and conditions

ebooks and ejournals

 Library Catalogue lists which you can limit by ebooks, ejournals, library etc.

ejournals

There are over 30 journals in the journal catalogue (AtoZ) relating to Nursing. To limit the full list to a relevant interest, navigate to the Full List and click on the Subject tab > Medical & Health Sciences, and choose your subject. Following are some popular journals. You may wish to create alerts to your favourite journals from the journal home page.

ebooks

medication information

  • AMH Children's Dosing Companion

    No logon required. Only available onsite. Links through to the Australian Medicines Handbook.

  • Australian Medicines Handbook - concise, practical, reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia. Only available onsite.
  • eTG Complete (Therapeutic Guidelines) - an Australian textbook that provides clinical information in the management of patients with common clinical conditions.
  • MIMS Online and Drug Alert - Australian drug information including Consumer Medicines Information, Product Information and Drug Product Images.

patient education

  • eTG Complete (Therapeutic Guidelines) - over 50 Australian patient information sheets and print-friendly PDFs.
  • HealthInsite - provides consumers and health professionals easy access to information ranging from daily health needs, such as nutrition, to information related to life events, such as having a baby.
  • Nursing Reference Center Plus- The Patient Education tab provides a specific location to browse for evidence-based patient handouts. NRC contains over 4,000 patient handouts.

continuing education

  • Ausmed - A few free courses and CPD to be gained
  • Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) - the organisation responsible for the implementation of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme across Australia.
  • FAQ: CPD FAQs for nurses and midwives - The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) Continuing Professional Development FAQs for Nurses and Midwives
  • Nursing Reference Center Plus- At the Continuing Education tab there is a list of topics. You will need to register to access the modules which include course materials, an interactive review and a test.
  • User Guides & Tutorials - developed to provide training for specific RHCL resources, including; How to use the Cochrane Library, MIMS, BMJ Best Practice, and Ebsco's Medline and CINAHL.

images

  • DynaMed - contains images which are used to explain visual clinical issues and to illustrate important clinical procedures.

mobile resources

internet resources and links

TERMS OF USE
FOLLOW US